Indianhead Credit Union was founded in March of 1961. The original charter was to serve the residents of Washburn County. The credit union is state chartered and operates under the laws of the State of Wisconsin. Our savings are insured by the NCUA, a U.S. government agency. Over the years, other credit unions have merged with ICU, so our charter was expanded to cover all of Burnett County, Washburn County, and Polk County North of Highway 8 and the employees of the CNW railroad in the second division, in 2006 the charter was expanded to include Sawyer County, Barron County, and all of Polk County. With the addition of our Superior Branch in 2017, our charter was once again expanded to include Douglas County. Effective April 27, 2023, Indianhead Credit Union expanded its Charter to now include Bayfield, Ashland and Rusk Counties.

When the credit union started in 1961, we offered only one type of savings account and did small consumer loans. The credit union now offers a full range of consumer and real estate loans, checking accounts with debit cards, and a wide variety of savings products from regular savings accounts to share certificates and IRAs. We have three locations to serve our member needs.